Member News

Our Email Newsletter, WW Dispatch, includes news about our members’ writing and events. The Dispatch mailing list reaches over 4,000 subscribers and comes out 3-5 times a month.

Subscribe to the Dispatch.

Post an announcement in the Dispatch.

Select member news from the Dispatch is published below.

Big River Mystery on Big Paddle Day

Meet local author J S James from nine to noon on June 6th at Seasons Coffee at The Old Liberty Theater in Ridgefield (115 N. Main Ave). Learn how he concocted River Run: A Delia Chavez Mystery out of several harrowing experiences on the Willamette River. Bring your board and enjoy Ridgefield’s annual Big Paddle…

Debut Novel Release: The Missing Sister

Elle Marr is the author of debut thriller The Missing Sister. In Paris, a young woman’s twin sister has vanished, leaving behind three chilling words: Trust no one. Taking the warning to heart, the woman retraces her sister’s footsteps, and they lead her down into Paris’s underbelly. As she gets closer to the truth—and to…

Author Duel at Two Rivers Bookstore

April 9, 7:00 pm. Travel “beyond the bridge” to St. John’s Two Rivers Bookstore, where dueling mystery authors thrust and parry over character quirks, plot secrets and action clips from River Run: a Delia Chavez Mystery by J. S. James and Crossroad by W. H. Cameron. All interested in the genre are invited to come…

Last Miracle for Maria available at Woodstock Library

Sherry M. Joiner, the author of Sherry Goes Sane: Living A Life With Schizo-Affective Disorder has penned a second memoir: Last Miracle for Maria: A Story of Suicide, PTSD, and Schizoaffective Bipolar Disorder Type. Her mother, Maria, a Brazilian immigrant and World War II bride comes to the States searching for opportunity. She becomes a…

Jennifer Greer’s book launches in July 2020

Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli & Isles and Kathy Reichs, comes A Desperate Place, an explosive debut thriller about a team of two strong women and a crime that will shake you to your core. Three separate homicides. Three unrelated victims. One grisly secret. The book launch for Jennifer Greer’s debut suspense/thriller is…

5 Week Class on The Writer’s Crucible with Philip Kenney

Saturdays, April 11 – May 9, 10am – 12pm This class is designed for students who wish to deepen their understanding of the ideas presented in the “Coming Through the Crucible” workshop. In this five-week class, we will use the text of The Writer’s Crucible as a starting point for an exploration of the emotional…

Editors’ Choice Selection

Maryka Biaggio’s novel, Eden Waits (Sunbury Press, August 2019) was selected as an Editor’s Choice in the February 2020 issue of Historical Novels Review. Eden Waits is based on the true story of a utopian community founded in the 1890s. Author John Smolens calls is a “well-researched novel that examines a lost chapter in our…

A Literary Salon in Cottage Grove

Save the date for “A Literary Salon” at the Opal Center for Arts and Education, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m., Saturday, March 14th. Presenters will be James Burke (author of the Jake Matthews medical suspense series) and Rod Williams (author of “An Americana Singer for the 21st Century” and “Celestial Springs”). They will read selections of…